A Wrinkle in Time

Posted on

I picked up A Wrinkle in Time off my daughter’s shelf, because I ran out of books on my list but knew this was a must read. I was so pleasantly surprised.

It’s the story of three children, whose father is a physicist and has apparently disappeared on a time traveling journey. The children are visited by three entities, Ms. Whatsit, Ms. Who and Ms. Which, who tell the kids their father is in danger, in another world, and they must help rescue him.

This author has an amazing way of describing abstract experiences, like being “tessered” through time and space, and what it feels like to be 2-dimensional.

Toward the end of the book it felt like the author lost momentum, and the story crawled a little, which made the sudden ending seem a little lackluster, but the wonderfully descriptive scenes will stay with me for a while.

This would be a great movie (remake please, the 2003 version looks AWFUL), somewhere between Pan’s Labyrinth and the Neverending Story. It’s written for children/ young adults, but it was a very enjoyable, quick read.

One thought on “A Wrinkle in Time

    Wb said:
    April 6, 2010 at 8:24 am

    I have had this on my bookshelf for years, and I have been meaning to read this!!

Leave a Reply

