The Great Gatsby

Posted on Updated on

Gatsby

I’m moving on to The Great Gatsby.  I know nothing about this book, except that Mia Farrow played the lead female role in the movie, and she was the voice of The Last Unicorn, which is enough to make me happy.  I’m only about 10 pages in, and already I love Fitzgerald’s writing style.  It’s rich with description and he immediately made me fall in love with the main characters. 

This is a short book, I should be done tomorrow.

Edit: Nov. 9, 2009

Finished The Great Gatsby tonight.  It had a tragic ending, not at all what I expected.  It was a very short book, (though this may be because I just finished 800-page Anna Karenina), but I didn’t feel there was enough time to get to know Gatsby before the ending came.  I don’t want to spoil the ending, so I will just recommend that if you haven’t read this book yet, you definitely should.

I haven’t seen the movie yet, but having the image of Robert Redford and Mia Farrow really helped establish the characters for me.  In a way, Gatsby reminds me of so many people I know, constantly “entertaining,” but developing no real friendships.  The love story is the part that really tore me up though.  I have such high expectations for passionate love, and this is the second book in a row that left me feeling empty about it.

Definitely going to read some more Fitzgerald in the future though.

Leave a Reply

