Anna Karenina (contains spoilers)

Posted on Updated on

anna

 

I picked up Anna Karenina off my shelf and accidentally fell in love with it.  It’s an 800 page book, so I’m in it for the long haul.  I have a feeling I’ll now be reading 3 books at a time, which is usual.

About 100 pages into Anna Karenina, I am already deeply entrenched in the lives of the characters.  While Anna herself seems a little TOO perfect, I’m rooting for her, and am glad to see real passion in all his characters (nice relief from the Sun Also Rises).  Tolstoy claims this was his first attempt at a novel.  One could only hope for such success.  I read a bit of the forward, and sadly it contained some spoilers(!), so I’m already aware that Anna dies in the end, which kind of killed the whole book for me, but it’s like watching the various versions of Romeo and Juliet – even though you know the final outcome, the ride there is well worth it.

2 thoughts on “Anna Karenina (contains spoilers)

    Olga Wolstenholme said:
    June 10, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Oh, I was hoping you didn’t know she died in the end. I wonder what it would be like to read it without knowing that piece of information. I also knew when I read it, but it was still amazing (stupid book forwards or introductions). This is one of my favorite books.

      letseatcake! said:
      June 10, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      I think it would have changed my outlook drastically, at least in the end. I probably would have been pissed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

